Photos

Of the plethora of photos I took, five of them turned out well enough to share (the magic of digital photography!):

st_05

I liked this one because the black branches go in all different directions and at all angles. It’s not sublime; I think the subject (a lone squirrel) is too tame a subject, but it might be a bit picturesque.

st_04

A concrete bench covered in snow. I liked it because the patterns of snow visible around the foot of the bench appealed to me.

st_03

The same bench, but with the tree beside it. This appealed to be because I liked the fact that the snow covers both the bench and the tree in the same way — nature does not discriminate between what is man-made and what is natural. Just as moss and vines will grow over ruins of old cathedrals and abandoned carts, so too will snow cover everything. Nature cannot be held back.

st_02

This is a featureless wall of Hagey Hall. I took a page from Burke’s book and went with perspective and vantage point to try to generate a feeling of awe or infinity. This I suppose would be much more along the lines of “technical sublime” than true sublime, but I liked the way it turned out.

st_01

This is one of the sculptures that stand in the courtyard outside Hagey Hall. Again, more “technical sublime” and more experimenting with vantage points and perspective. I think the brick wall works better, really, but I still like this shot, too.

— Sarah Carless

4 responses to “Photos

  1. Great use of perspective to tease out the sublime. Interestingly enough, I think the brick wall falls short of the sublime due to a lack of scale markers. See Laura’s bookshelf, which needs to be cut off in order to create the illusion of infinity. It’s a different case since we have a sense of the scale of books. But this brick wall provides no sense of scale or directionality. Also, it’s quite uniform. Compare to the frozen man-made lake posted today by Byron. If that lake were cut in pieces by a jagged crevice in the ice, it would have more chance of being sublime. It’s vast, but just too clean and tranquil.

  2. I forgot to mention how much I like the bench and branch image. This is a keeper, and the comments are very “tasteful.”

  3. Sarah,
    I really like your image of the bench and branch. It looks like a lovely old relationship… Especially because of the material relationship beyond just the spatial one.

  4. When I first looked at the brick photo, I didn’t see the sublime in it, but I found that as I continued to look at it, I started to feel something. Because it is so uniform, and all that you can see is brick, it is terrifying for lack of anything else.

    I disagree that there is no scale marker. You can make out individual bricks, and most people are familiar with the general size of a brick, so that gives a sense of how tall this structure is. Bricks are also typically laid horizontally, so we can’t mistake the height for width.

    Maybe I just have an irrational fear of bricks, but for me this is one of the more sublime photos posted so far.

Leave a Reply

